Isle of Wight

Carefree short breaks & holidays

Family eating out at an Island restaurant © IW Tourism
 

Local produce

A farm worker sorting freshly harvested garlic bulbs

Garlic farming © IW Tourism

The Arreton Valley is a fertile area for growing tomatoes, cucumbers, cauliflower and sweetcorn, making a significant contribution to the Isle of Wight's economy.

Combined with the Island's mild climate, this helped spur the growth of farm shops, farmers' markets, and box schemes. The Island now leads the way with a profusion of products for the local community offering the foodie tourist a chance to sample local meat, seafood, fruit, vegetables and a wealth of locally grown and caught specialities.

Fishing boats from Cowes, Yarmouth, Bembridge and Ventnor supply lobster, crab, mackerel, sea bass and bream. The Island's legendary garlic (which is exported to France) and asparagus are on sale at the Garlic Shop in Newchurch.

Calbourne Water Mill sells six different kinds of stone-ground flour. Suppliers such as Horringford Gardens, Island Fresh Lamb, Isle of Wight Bacon, Hamiltons Fine Foods and Godshill Organics all operate home delivery schemes for vegetables or meats.

According to season, you can sample local pheasant, delicious cherries and succulent strawberries, which you can pick yourself in the Arreton Valley.

Farm shops

Briddlesford Lodge Farm, Wootton ......................... www.briddlesfordlodgefarm.co.uk
Godshill Organics, Godshill ...................................... www.godshillorganics.co.uk
Afton Park, Freshwater ........................................... www.aftonpark.co.uk
Horringford Gardens, Newport ................................ www.horringford.com
Farmer Jacks, Arreton ............................................. www.farmerjacks.co.uk
Kings Manor Farm, Freshwater ............................... www.kingsmanorfarm.co.uk
Calbourne Classics, Shalfleet .................................. www.calbourneclassics.co.uk

Meat and poultry

Brownrigg Poultry, Godshill ..................................... www.brownriggpoultry.co.uk
Isle of Wight Bacon, Godshill ................................... www.isleofwightbacon.co.uk
Isle of Wight Biltong, Binstead ................................. www.isleofwightbiltong.co.uk

Seafood

The Best Dressed Crab In Town, Bembridge ........... www.thebestdressedcrabintown.co.uk
Blakes of Ventnor Beach, Ventnor ........................... 01983 852176
Wheeler's Crab Shed, Steephill Cove ...................... www.steephillcove-isleofwight.co.uk

Sauces and delicacies

Mary Case Honey, Newport ..................................... 01983 740223
Primrose Well Cottage, Sandown ............................ 01983 405788
Island Mustard Company, Bembridge ...................... www.theislandmustardcompany.co.uk
The Garlic Farm, Newchurch ..................................... www.thegarlicfarm.co.uk
The Isle of Wight Cheese Company, Sandown ........ www.isleofwightcheese.co.uk
The Tomato Stall, Arreton ........................................ www.thetomatostall.co.uk

Sweets and desserts

Island Biscuits, Yarmouth ......................................... 01983 866006
Isle of Wight Sweet Manufactory, Alum Bay ............. www.theneedles.co.uk
Calbourne Classics Dairy Products, Shalfleet ........... www.calbourneclassics.co.uk
Minghella's Luxury Ice Cream, Wootton ................... www.minghella.co.uk

A orchard worker gathering red apples

Apple picking

Complimenting its culinary delights, the Island is awash with breweries and vineyards. Established in 1840, Ventnor Brewery uses water from its own spring to brew fine beers which are worthy of close inspection, and Goddard's nationally acclaimed ales are a tribute to their brewer, Chris Coleman.

Natural spring water is harnessed by Osel Products for their Wight Crystal mineral waters, available throughout the Island. Vineyards include Adgestone and Rosemary. Call in for a wine tasting, or visit Godshill Cider Barn, irresistible to cider lovers.

Sharon Orchard outside Ryde produces five varieties of apple juice from its own freshly pressed apples, and you can purchase Afton Park's award-winning apple juice from their Freshwater nursery and Island shops.

Wines and beverages

Godshill Cider Company, Godshill ............................. www.godshillisleofwight.co.uk
Sharon Orchard, Ryde .............................................. www.sharonorchard.com
Adgestone Vineyard, Brading ................................... www.english-wine.co.uk
Goddards Brewery, Ryde .......................................... www.goddards-brewery.co.uk
Rosemary Vineyard, Ryde ......................................... www.rosemaryvineyard.co.uk
Ventnor Brewery, Ventnor ........................................ www.ventnorbrewery.co.uk
Wight Crystal Water, Newport .................................. www.osel-iow.co.uk